Pasua: Is My Chips in a Box!

Inspired by this post, I decided to share the secret of the Pasua.

Those who are well acquainted with Nairobi estate food, must have heard of or eaten, a pasua. Best high school food ever! My first encounter with a pasua was no less memorable than my first day at school. The day that changed my life!

A pasua is a big ‘ndao’ (singular Andazi and plural Maandazi – bun) served hot. It consists of hot chips, of the French Fry/Pommes Frites variety stuffed in a fresh ‘ndao’. It was not a staple to all areas and certainly part of my early ideas of ways to eat chips. Oooh!

Leave a Reply

